2012 STOP-DWI MADD Recognition Awards Banquet

Since 1995, New York State highway safety partners have proudly hosted an annual recognition event to presentawards acknowledging outstanding efforts and achievements in deterring impaired driving.  This recognition program is supported by member agencies of the Governor’s Traffic Safety Committee, the NYS STOP-DWI Association & Foundation and the Mothers Against Drunk Driving.  These awards are designed to recognize dedicated officers, outstanding police agencies, unique enforcement strategy or an outstanding program that has had success in reducing drunk or impaired driving in your community.

On November 13, 2012 over 100 people gathered to recognize some of New York’s finest.  The awards were presented in each of the categories below:

Individual Officer Award:  This award recognizes the contribution of an individual law enforcement officer’s.  The nomination is to be submitted by the agency command.  More than one officer from an agency may be put forward, use one form per nomination.  Awards are segmented by department size.

Non-Enforcement Contribution Award:  This award recognizes civilian individuals or agencies that have made a significant contribution to reducing the incidence of impaired driving within the New York state.  Any STOP-DWI coordinator, police agency, traffic safety professional or MADD chapter may nominate an individual or agency for this category.

Law Enforcement Agency Award:  This award highlights an enforcement agency’ efforts in deterring drunk driving.  Agency command must endorse the nomination on behalf of the department. Awards segmented by department size.

Congratulations to the winners of the 2012 STOP-DWI / MADD awards:


Law Enforcement Individuals

Officer John Jordan                          Avon Police Department

Officer Ryan Hampel                       Saugerties Police Department

Officer James Pollard                       Camillus Police Department

Officer Michael Poole                       Seneca Falls Police Department

Sergeant Shaun Carnevale               Broome County Sheriff’s Office

Deputy Robert Sullivan                  Washington County Sheriff’s Office

Deputy Michael Wade                      Livingston County Sheriff’s Office

Officer Timothy Murphy                  Riverhead Police Department

Officer Joshua Vanskiver              Elmira Police Department

Officer Jeremy Nash                         Utica Police Department

Officer Ralph Southworth                 Troy Police Department

Deputy Todd Sutherland               Monroe County Sheriff’s Office

Officer Brian Davis                          Syracuse Police Department

Officer Michael Lambert                   Nassau County Police Department

Officer Albert Weech                     Rochester Police Department

Trooper Mark D. Baney               New YorkState Police Troop F

Trooper Gregory C. Lischak, Jr.         New York State Police Troop F


Distinguished Performance

Deputy Neil Stuart                        Dutchess County Sheriff’s Office


Law Enforcement Agencies

New York State Police – Troop C

Ontario County Sheriff’s Office

Non-Law Enforcement Agency

Ontario County District Attorney’s Office

Lifetime Achievement Award

Richard Devlin, Sr.